February Challenge – Try Something New

When did February get here? Ha Ha

I hope you all tried to create a recycle/reuse/repurpose type of project for January’s challenge. I thought my project was fun, although I would probably tweak what I did a bit to get some different results if I were to do it again. Which is what the challenge is all about. Doing something and finding out what works and doesn’t work and whether you even like doing it.

For February I thought we should ‘try something new’. It can be art related. Perhaps trying a new technique or a new medium that you have never used before. Just experiment and see what happens. I have been trying to just play around in the studio more often, with no preconceived notions about what I should or should not be accomplishing. It is rather fun to do, and my thinking is that all these experiments can be repurposed back into other projects at a later time. Which eases my guilt somewhat for just simply playing and goofing off. I wonder when playing got such a bad reputation?

But you could also choose to do anything else you might be interested in. Maybe you want to learn a new language. Or learn scuba diving. Or how to ride a motorcycle. Anything new is good for this challenge. I used to be afraid to try new things, but I have slowly come to appreciate the benefits of trying and learning and even failing. It is scary sometimes, but it is also exciting and exhilarating as well. I encourage you to be on the lookout for new things to try. I look forward to seeing what everyone does. Please come back and share.  And remember to have fun too!

About Deb Prewitt

I am an aspiring artist. I love all things creative and enjoy the people around me who are artistic. I live in Colorado which is a great place to be. I enjoy lots of different things and plan on exploring those things in this blog.
This entry was posted in Challenges and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to February Challenge – Try Something New

  1. Linda Mangus says:

    I actually made my first fabric ATC. I also make some Zendangle ATC’s and journal pages. I have found that I love it very much. So I am going to continue to do some ATC’s and Zendangle things so I can get a little bit better at it.

  2. Linda Logan says:

    I will be trying dating for the first time in 28 years. May not happen in Feb, but it is on the near horizon. Wish me luck!!!

Leave a Reply

