Week 5 Monday Challenge

Another Monday is here. Where does the time go?

Last week’s challenge was to ‘use the good stuff’. So how did everyone do? I admit this was hard for me. I did use the good china for one meal. It was nice, but I felt a bit pretentious using the china for tacos. But I am going to make an effort to use the china at least once a week. Maybe I’ll even get out a table-cloth and the cloth napkins to use. You never know.

I also finally wore a sweater that I had received for Christmas. It still had the tags on it! I didn’t do anything special that day, just chores and errands, but at least I finally wore it. I think I have more things hiding in my closet (saving it for the right occasion) that I could be wearing more often. I really don’t know why I save things for later. No doubt it is due to not having much growing up, and so we had ‘good’ clothes and ‘play’ clothes, ‘church’ shoes and ‘tennis’ shoes.   We just didn’t have the money to replace something if it got ruined.

I also used some ‘good stuff’ in my studio when I was playing and creating this weekend. It was quite liberating to do so. I’m always thinking I will be creating something better or more interesting at a later time, that will need this particular fabulous fabric or dazzling embellishment that I have been saving. Really? What is the likelihood of that happening? (If I do make something so wonderful that I need that special bit of something or other that I have been saving, I probably won’t be able to find it anyway!) So I used a few things and it was OK. It was actually fun, and I hope I can keep up that trend in future projects. Let’s be honest, what is more important than what you are working on right now? That is where you need to use up those precious supplies!

Keep on using the Good Stuff every week. It will make you feel better.

Now on to this week’s challenge. This week you are going to get rid of some of the stuff/junk you hang on to. We all do it. We keep those chipped coffee cups, pencil stubs with no erasers, games with missing pieces, clothes that don’t fit, tools we don’t use, etc. Why do we keep all of that around? Do we really think we will use it?

Perhaps we keep old stuff because it is hard to let go of things. We become attached to something and feel like it is a part of us, so we don’t want to get rid of it. Perhaps it was a gift so you don’t want to hurt the giver’s feelings by parting with it. Maybe you think as soon as you throw it out, you will have an urgent need for it. There are many reasons for hanging on to stuff we don’t want or don’t need or don’t use. I am not going to play psychologist and try to figure it all out.

I do think this topic links back to last week’s challenge. Often we don’t use the Good Stuff because we are still using the Old Stuff. Getting rid of some of the old stuff will help you use the good stuff. You see how this works?

I read something recently (unfortunately I am not sure where, so cannot give proper credit) that talked about how the clutter in our lives and homes contributes to our mental well-being. That the fogginess we sometimes experience, or that scatter-brained feeling, or forgetfulness (whatever you want to call it), is related to how cluttered our homes are. Our minds feel cluttered too. When we remove some of the clutter from our lives, we clear up our minds a bit too, thus allowing us to think clearer, becoming more focused. This makes sense to me. Perhaps as we get older, we are not becoming more forgetful, but rather we have so much stuff to remember and think about, that it is more difficult to retrieve the info we need from our cluttered brains. So let’s clear some space in our homes and in our brains!

For this week, I challenge you all to go into each room of your house and try to find one thing you can get rid of. Just one thing that you can throw away or give away. At the end of the week take your box of things and donate it to the local Goodwill (or other charitable entity) or out to the curb for trash pickup.  If you feel extra ambitious, you can do a whole box for each room!  When you are finished, you will feel less cluttered, in your home and in your mind.

About Deb Prewitt

I am an aspiring artist. I love all things creative and enjoy the people around me who are artistic. I live in Colorado which is a great place to be. I enjoy lots of different things and plan on exploring those things in this blog.
This entry was posted in Challenges, Everyday Life and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Week 5 Monday Challenge

  1. Pingback: Week 6 Monday Challenge | lifeofdeb

Leave a Reply

