Week 4 Monday Challenge

How did everyone do on last week’s challenge of going someplace new? I amazed myself by going several new places. I started the week by going to a new Yoga class in a new facility. Although I have to admit my daughter Robyn is teaching the class which made it much easier to try out. The location is MACS (Movement Arts Community Studio) www.movementartscs.com. It is a beautiful space.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

One idea that is constantly emphasized with yoga or meditation is the notion of being quiet and still. Our lives are often very busy and chaotic and in ‘hurry up’ mode. Pausing on a regular basis is good for our well-being. Allowing ourselves to slow down and be mindful almost feels like a luxury. Go ahead and give yourselves a little treat today by being still.

I also went to a new Quilt Guild meeting this week – The Front Range Contemporary Quilters – http://www.artquilters.org. Tom Lundberg was the guest speaker and gave a great talk about the trends in the arts and crafts fields. The ‘show and tell’ portion of the meeting was fabulous with many beautiful and interesting pieces to be admired.

I also went with some friends on a field trip to Denver and we stopped at Kozo Paper and Fancy Tiger Crafts. Lots of creativity inspiration. It was fun to check out a couple new stores.

What did you do?

For this week’s challenge I want you to ‘Use the Good Stuff’ every day. This is sometimes tough to do. Many of us are conditioned to save the good stuff for special occasions. I know I do it, so I am constantly reminding myself that it is OK to use the good stuff. I drag out the good china and silver only for holidays and then promptly put it away again. I rarely wear good jewelry (not that I have much). I buy new clothes or shoes but then I think I need to save them til I really need them, and so I wear the old worn-out jeans and t-shirts most of the time. I love new crafting stuff, but then I hesitate to use it for fear of using it all up and not being able to replace it. One of my art groups has a constant challenge out to the members to ‘Pillage the Dragons Hoard’, and believe me it is a challenge to do. We always want to save the good stuff for later, for the perfect project, the perfect time, etc.

For this week you will use the good stuff. Try to use something every single day. Drag out the good china and serve the kids breakfast on it. Pour your morning glass of orange juice into that crystal goblet. Go ahead, you can do it.  Wear your grandmother’s wedding ring. Take the price tag off that new sweater and wear it to the grocery store. Take out that hand-dyed fabric and make something with it. Whatever it is that you ‘save for good’, get it out and use it!!!!

About Deb Prewitt

I am an aspiring artist. I love all things creative and enjoy the people around me who are artistic. I live in Colorado which is a great place to be. I enjoy lots of different things and plan on exploring those things in this blog.
This entry was posted in Challenges, Everyday Life, Inspiration and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

