Recycle Challenge Completed

Just wanted to update everyone on my recycle/repurpose challenge from the 1st of the month. I wanted to do something fairly simple to do, so you all could play along with me. I made a small journal project using old Christmas cards and a used padded mailer envelope.

used mailers and old holiday cards

I trimmed the cards to a similar size and cut open the mailer and trimmed it to be larger than the cards when folded. Then I put a coat of gesso on all the cards and the mailer, but I kept part of the pictures and the writing showing through a bit. I like this added layer to the final product. Then I added some paint. I used water colors and acrylics and inks. You can mix and match your paints. I like mine messy, so that is what I did. Made the pages all messy.

painted cover

painted holiday cards

As you can see bits of the pictures and words peek through the paint, which adds interest to the final product.

Once you have your pieces all painted and dry, you can decide if you would like to add some more embellishments to decorate the cover or the pages. I added some bits of fabric and paper and a velum piece with a saying on it. I used double-sided tape to hold the pieces in place while I sewed them to the cover. I also added a few stamped images to the cover and the pages. I chose to not embellish the pages more at this time. I plan to add some journaling or photos to the pages at a later time.

Then I was ready to put it all together.  I decided to sew my pages in, but you could easily use brads or grommets and ribbon or rings or even staples. Since I was sewing I knew I couldn’t put too many pages into my little book, especially since the cover was a padded envelope which was thick as well. I made a double binding seam to hold my pages in place, and also added a zig-zag stitch around the edge to give it a more finished look. And glued on a cute button for a bit of fun. Remember to change your sewing needle after making this as sewing through all these layers will really put some wear on the needle.

finished cover of project

Ta da! A cute little project to make using things you would normally be throwing away. This is super easy and would be a great project to do with kids.

So what did you do?

About Deb Prewitt

I am an aspiring artist. I love all things creative and enjoy the people around me who are artistic. I live in Colorado which is a great place to be. I enjoy lots of different things and plan on exploring those things in this blog.
This entry was posted in Art Work, Challenges, Inspiration and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Recycle Challenge Completed

  1. Pingback: February Challenge – Try Something New | lifeofdeb

Leave a Reply

