Week 2 Monday Challenge

I almost forgot to post this weeks challenge! Going on vacation sort of messes up my interior clock/calendar.

How did everyone do with last weeks challenge? I’d love to hear from you about your museum escapades.

This weeks challenge is to write 3 letters. Real letters! With hand-writing! No e-mails. No texts. No type-written notes.

I feel that the hand-written letter has almost disappeared. People just don’t write letters anymore. It is so much simpler and easier to send a quick e-mail. Instant gratification.

Yes, I know some of you send a hand-written note with your Christmas cards, so you feel like you have already done this. However, my personal experience is that most people only sign their names with a quick Merry Christmas or Happy New Year message, but no real letter. Or you may get a nice long Holiday Letter, but everyone gets the same letter run off in multiple copies at Kinko’s. Very few actual letters written to you personally. I find this a bit sad.

I remember writing letters when I was younger, even having several pen pals that I exchanged personal notes with. There is a joy in finding a Real Letter in your mailbox. You want to get a cup of tea ready before you open it, so you can savor the whole experience. Perhaps the joy is in the stationary or note card that was selected just for you. Or maybe the handwriting is what you cherish the most. Or the pretty postage stamp or the newspaper clipping or photo that is enclosed, all just for you. And what about those really special letters that you want to keep forever, tied up with a ribbon maybe, that you re-read again and again. It’s really not quite the same thing with an e-mail……. 

I want you to send off 3 letters this week. To a friend or a relative or even a neighbor. Write something personal in the letter. Maybe you owe some thank-you notes for your Christmas gifts? Or you’ve lost touch with an old friend? Or a relative that you only see at special family gatherings? I know you can think of 3 people who would love a hand-written letter from you this week. Who knows, maybe you will decide that it was fun and keep on doing it.

Check back in and let me know how it goes!

About Deb Prewitt

I am an aspiring artist. I love all things creative and enjoy the people around me who are artistic. I live in Colorado which is a great place to be. I enjoy lots of different things and plan on exploring those things in this blog.
This entry was posted in Challenges and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Week 2 Monday Challenge

  1. Linda Mangus says:

    I wrote to my husband’s Aunt Faye, my niece’s Brittany and Naquitta. I also wrote to several pen pals but thought that would be cheating a little.

  2. lifeofdeb says:

    I’m pretty sure that writing to pen pals counts as writing letters too!

Leave a Reply

