Museum Challenge

I stumbled upon the Bead Museum in Glendale and just knew that was someplace I needed to visit. My friend Liz would never forgive me if I was so near and missed it. My husband wasn’t overly thrilled with such an option, but tagged along anyway. However, it was CLOSED! A man who was coming out of the museum said they were doing inventory and wouldn’t be open. Not sure when they would be open again, and not sure if I will be able to get back over there to see it. My husband was quite relieved that it was closed. Sorry Liz!

We were able to visit the Frank Lloyd Wright Taliesin West Museum in Scottsdale though. I was able to get some photos of the site. Many areas were off-limits to photos as people do still live and work there. Then my camera batteries died…..luckily it was near the end of the tour so I didn’t miss too many photos. Enjoy.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

The home is where FLW spent his winters. It was basically a camp site for him and his family and the apprentices he gathered around him. It is still a working accredited School of Architecture, as well as a museum. He was a very interesting man, very much ahead of his time, very innovative in design and life in general. I found it fascinating to learn more about this Architectural Icon, and in fact I purchased a couple of books at the gift shop to learn even more about him and his life.

The buildings are situated on 550 acres in the Scottsdale desert, and are very much exactly as they were in his lifetime, and are still being used as a teaching site where students live and work and study. The home and the grounds are full of beautiful pieces of art and sculpture and everywhere you look you are reminded of Frank Lloyd Wright’s vision of how life should be lived. He believed in using the materials available on site and that a home should be a part of Nature and the natural surroundings. Thus all of his buildings were unique and designed specifically for the site they would occupy. He also believed in art and beauty and surrounding yourself with the things and people you loved and appreciated. I thoroughly enjoyed this tour and learning about FLW. I hope all of you have been searching out museums to visit this week.

About Deb Prewitt

I am an aspiring artist. I love all things creative and enjoy the people around me who are artistic. I live in Colorado which is a great place to be. I enjoy lots of different things and plan on exploring those things in this blog.
This entry was posted in Challenges, Inspiration, Nature and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Museum Challenge

  1. liz kettle says:

    Too bad about the bead museum being closed…I bet it would have been fabulous! I am a FLW fan too…we saw Falling Water in Va on our honeymoon. This place is beautiful. Maybe we need to do a FLW challange??

  2. lifeofdeb says:

    Oohh. A FLW challenge? What do you think we could do?

    And I did get back to the Bead Museum today.

Leave a Reply

