Happy New Year

Welcome to 2011!!!!!!

Hello from Arizona, where I am on vacation for the week. I was hoping for some nice hot weather, but it is a bit cool right now. Supposed to be highs in the 50’s this week, so not exactly sun-bathing weather. However, it is still a vacation, and I plan on enjoying my time here. We stayed with family last night, and checked into the resort this afternoon. We are staying at Cibola Vista Resort and Spa, and so far it is very nice. The rooms are fabulous and the grounds look beautiful, with lots of open space and trails around so I am looking forward to exploring the desert this week. Although our rooms are quite nice, with several outdoor balconies to enjoy, that we may not be venturing forth too much. I’ll let you know how the week goes.

I also wanted to go over my intentions for the upcoming year. I am planning on doing one monthly creative challenge on the 1st day of each month (I’m a day late already for that one!), which I will do and hope you will all do as well. Please be sure to come back and post what you have done. I also plan on doing a weekly mini-challenge on Monday every week, which will be something completely random, that I hope you will check out and do. I’ll give you this weeks challenge tomorrow.

I also have a personal challenge that I hope I can keep up for the entire year. I will take at least one photo every day and post it here (which may not get posted each day, but as often as I can). This should be good for a number of reasons.

  1. I will hopefully remember to take my camera with me everywhere I go. Often I see something that would be a great picture, but don’t have my camera.
  2. It will be interesting to see what sorts of things I do take photos of every day, especially when the end of the year gets here and I can look back and see my year captured via photos.
  3. I think it will help me to look at my surroundings differently and see the beauty and interest in everyday life.

Hopefully it will help me learn more about my camera too. I have just a little cheap camera right now, which does an adequate job of photo taking, but maybe if I really become interested in photographing everything, I will invest in a better camera and learn how to use it.

1/1/11

We were driving on I-10 just at sunset and the sky was a wonderful pink color, and the silhouettes against the sky were beautiful. Of course, I was trying to take photos from a moving car, so it was a bit questionable how it would turn out. But it was a photo from Day 1 of the new year.

1/2/11

We are in Arizona, so I felt compelled to take some photos of some cactus for Day 2. I wonder if I can set up a separate file on the blog where all these daily photos can go?

Welcome to the New Year and let’s make it fabulous!

About Deb Prewitt

I am an aspiring artist. I love all things creative and enjoy the people around me who are artistic. I live in Colorado which is a great place to be. I enjoy lots of different things and plan on exploring those things in this blog.
This entry was posted in Everyday Life and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Happy New Year

Leave a Reply

