Reflections

I know at this time of year it is customary to make New Years Resolutions and to look back at how we did on last years Resolutions. We often are discouraged because the same old Resolutions come up again and again and we fail to make good on them (perhaps we should quit listing those). We feel bad that we broke our vows or didn’t quite get everything done that we wanted to. When we do this, we are telling ourselves that we aren’t good enough or capable enough. I confess that I have done this in the past as well.

But this year I am going to do it differently. Instead of trying to make a list of changes I want to accomplish or feeling disappointed over that same old Resolution that just never seems to get done, I am going to reflect on what I actually did do this past year. This seems to be a more positive way of ending the year.

This is my list – in no particular order – and probably not a complete list either.

  1. Quit my full-time job and became semi-retired, just working part-time. This was quite a huge change for me and has taken the entire year to really adjust to it.
  2. Took several vacations during the year, including a trip to Hawaii with my husband, and visits with my sisters, a trip to Houston, several small weekend getaways around the state.
  3. Was able to participate more in several art groups that I am part of, which was a lot of fun. I also created new art and just played and experimented with stuff more.
  4. Took quite a few different classes over the year, including calligraphy, journaling, mono-printing, a cooking class (those of you who know me understand this was a big deal), yoga (with my lovely daughter), dyeing, doll class.
  5. Went to my first ever Artistic Retreat – Textile Evolution . It was so much fun and I met lots of new people. I don’t know what I was afraid of before! I highly recommend doing a Retreat, especially this one. My friend Liz Kettle is the founder and organizer of it and she does a fabulous job.
  6. Joined Facebook finally. Have had a lot of fun with that.
  7. Created this Blog! Woo Hoo!
  8. Investigated and researched starting another business. A group of friends also assisted in this endeavor, although we decided the time wasn’t quite right to open a new store, I am going to open an on-line store and hope to have that ready by the end of January.
  9. Participated in the Avon Breast Cancer Walk for the Cure. Not only did I raise over $2000 for a very worthy cause, but I started walking more and getting myself in better shape. I truly enjoyed the experience and was extremely proud of myself and my sister for completing over 26 miles!!!!
  10. Enjoyed numerous excursions to the theatre and to museums and art shows. There are so many wonderful opportunities out there to be a part of your local arts community and give your support.
  11. Painted and reorganized several rooms in my house. My studio was first in line for a makeover and it turned out great. It is pretty and bright and much more organized than it ever was before! It is fun to be in there and create now. I also redid the guest bedroom and the music room (although it was never a music room before, that is what it has become), the laundry room, and one bathroom. I also hung up several quilts and fiber art pieces that I have made over the years. It is really nice to have those out where I can enjoy them on a daily basis. Many thanks to my sister Teresa for her help.
  12. Went to Houston Quilt Market and Festival. It was my first time and it was amazing and overwhelming. I am so glad I was with friends who had been before and could help me navigate and enjoy the event. I know I will be attending again in the future.
  13. I completed all my health/doctor related visits (which I have a tendency to postpone). The dentist (including a new crown that needed done), the eye doctor, complete physical with my doctor, colonoscopy (not as bad as I thought it would be), some tests to my thyroid (tests weren’t bad, but had to have it done due to a growth that showed up in order to rule out cancer, which was a bit scary).

Making a list like this helps us to realize that we do accomplish a lot and that our lives are full. I challenge each of you to make your own list of 2010 accomplishments. I know you will feel better about yourself knowing that you did so many things. Maybe we won’t need that list of New Years Resolutions after all.

Happy New Year Everyone!

About Deb Prewitt

I am an aspiring artist. I love all things creative and enjoy the people around me who are artistic. I live in Colorado which is a great place to be. I enjoy lots of different things and plan on exploring those things in this blog.
This entry was posted in Everyday Life and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Reflections

  1. Liz Kettle says:

    So true Deb! I started a mental list when I was getting depressed becuase I was sick for so long and it cheered me up right away!

    • Linda Mangus says:

      A mental list. What sort of things did you put on it? Maybe that is what I should do as well.
      I like to make a goal for work, play and home each month. That way I can concentrate on them for the whole month and by the end of the month they are habit and I can add new ones. By the end of the year I have accomplished a lot of things without the commitment of year long resolutions. I get more done that way.

Leave a Reply

