Monday word of the week – Amanuensis

This week’s word of the week is amanuensis. I don’t know where I saw it, but I wrote it down on a note that I found in my purse. But now that I look it up, I like it!

amanuensis

amanuensis

a·man·u·en·sis

/əˌmanyo͞oˈensis/

Noun
A literary or artistic assistant, in particular one who takes dictation or copies manuscripts.
Synonyms
scribe – clerk – secretary – scrivener – copyist

From Merriam-Webster:

plural aman·u·en·ses

Definition of AMANUENSIS

: one employed to write from dictation or to copy manuscript

Examples of AMANUENSIS

  1. <thanks to the efforts of his dutiful amanuensis, copies of most of the author’s letters and unpublished manuscripts have been preserved>

Origin of AMANUENSIS

Latin, from (servusa manu slave with secretarial duties

First Known Use: 1619

 

From scrabblefindinders.com

Is amanuenses a scrabble word? Yes!

Definition of Amanuenses

  • n. – Someone skilled in the transcription of speech (especially dictation)

Amanuenses is worth 12 points in Scrabble, and 16 points in Words with Friends

There are 10 letters in amanuenses: A A E E M N N S S U

A couple of the sources say literary or artistic assistant, but most just say someone who transcribes or takes dictation, a secretary. I like the idea of an artistic assistant. I wonder what kinds of things an artistic amanuensis would do for me? Hmmm….I think I have a list here somewhere. :)

~Deb

About Deb Prewitt

I am an aspiring artist. I love all things creative and enjoy the people around me who are artistic. I live in Colorado which is a great place to be. I enjoy lots of different things and plan on exploring those things in this blog.
This entry was posted in Monday word of the week and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Monday word of the week – Amanuensis

  1. What an interesting word! Much prettier than “secretary”. :)

  2. Pingback: Monday word of the week – Orthography | lifeofdeb

  3. Pingback: a note from the amanuensis about the novel | Nice Cuppa Tae

  4. Pingback: a note from the amanuensis about the novel | Nice Cuppa Tae

Leave a Reply

