Struggling with 2 Blogs

1238968076936815408scott_kirkwood_scales.svg.hi

As you may know, I have 2 blogs that I try to maintain (Life of Deb and Blue Twig Studio). It has slowly gotten more difficult to be as active on both of them as I would like to be. I have debated combining the 2 blogs into 1 blog, thinking that would help me stay more on top of it. However, the other blog is for my business (Blue Twig Studio) and is more focused on stuff that relates to the business and what I am doing in the business, etc. This blog can have stuff relating to my business, but mostly has stuff that is more personal. (Although that stuff has been what has been missing here lately.) I don’t want very much of the personal stuff on the business blog.

It occurs to me that balancing that work stuff with personal stuff (like my blog dilemma) is what many of us struggle with on a regular basis. How do we work hard on our business and do what needs to be done to make it thrive and be successful, yet still have time for our personal lives and families and friends? It is a constant balancing act.

Yet, I recently heard something that made me pause and think about how I am constantly juggling one or the other and not always having much luck doing so. The idea is that you can’t have that balance. It isn’t really possible. If you want to have a successful and thriving business, you need to spend more time and more effort and more thinking….on your business!!!! If you want to have more family time and a more nourishing relationship with your loved ones, you are going to have to bring that balance scale back the other way and spend more time and energy…..on your family!!!!! But you are not really going to be able to do both in a successful way. At least not without giving up your own self to do it.

And what if you have a third or a fourth very important thing in your life that you want to focus on and develop? Perhaps a passion for a hobby or a desire for learning or travel? How can you truly have the time and energy and dedication to all of those things and really do them justice? And still keep your own sanity? And keep that balance???? I know we have been told we can do it, but is it realistic? Is that why we have so much burn-out at work and in relationships? Is that we we are over-tired and over-stressed and struggling to get by?

It is important to decide what is the most important thing that you want Right Now! And that is where many of us falter. We just can’t make that choice. We do want it all (and haven’t we been told that we CAN have it all?) and we have a hard time deciding that one thing is more important than the other thing. How can we possibly choose? Sigh……

For now, I am keeping both blogs, but will really be focusing more on the Blue Twig Studio blog, as that is my business and my heart is truly in it, and it is needing my attention to grow and be successful. I will keep this more personal blog, but I won’t stress about having only one blog post a week most of the time. It’s OK. I have made my choice and because it is important to me and I am dedicated to making my business be successful, I am satisfied that I have made the correct choice. I understand that I can’t have that equal balance at this time. I know my family understands. Which is really quite liberating.

I am learning about balance and how it is not always the optimal thing for success. I am thinking that being unbalanced is the way to go. What do you think about this idea?

~Deb~

 

About Deb Prewitt

I am an aspiring artist. I love all things creative and enjoy the people around me who are artistic. I live in Colorado which is a great place to be. I enjoy lots of different things and plan on exploring those things in this blog.
This entry was posted in Blue Twig Studio, Deb Prewitt, Everyday Life and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Struggling with 2 Blogs

  1. Kerry Cain says:

    Good thoughts…. I think balance may mean having more of one thing now, because you are concentrating on it, but knowing that you will concentrate on other things at some other point in time so that in the long run it evens out. So sometimes my fabric art takes precedent and other times my family does. As you note, realistically at any point in time we can’t have it all, but I do try to assure that over time all the things I care about get my attention.

  2. I agree with Kerry. And, maybe you should listen to your inner voice. What does it tell you? Sometimes it’s ok to focus on one thing, knowing that that one thing needs your attention, but also knowing that you will get back to other things when the time is right. There is no perfection in life.

  3. Me? I have a art/craft blog and a 40 plus beauty blog.
    One is of my arts and craft fun and other is about my journey back into fashion and makeup after a long time out of it all.

    Personal? Kind of stays personal. Sometimes I put stuff on my facebook page the stuff I want to share that doesn’t go into the blogs above.

    • Deb Prewitt says:

      It is fun to have separate blogs for separate purposes, but I sometimes feel like I am neglecting one or the other or both of them. It sounds like you have it worked out pretty well.

  4. Pingback: Balancing Act | Comfortably Numb

Leave a Reply

