Monday word of the week – oojamaflip

This week’s word is oojamaflip. This was just one of those words in a book that I thought might be a made-up word. I read a lot of fantasy science fiction stuff, and there are always made up words in those books. But no – this is an actual word!

From collinsdictionary.com:

noun

  1. (slang) a thing whose name is temporarily forgotten

synonyms:

thingamajig

thingy

whatsit

thingamabob

whatchamacallit

thingummy

gizmo

doodad

The word has very little information about it on any of the sites I visited. It appears to be a derivative of ‘oojah’.

From freedictionary.com:

oojah, ooja-ka-pivoojiboo – An oojah or ooja-ka-piv or oojiboo is “a thing whose name one forgets, does not know, or prefers not to mention.”

Neither oojamaflip nor oojah are acceptable words for Scrabble. Too bad. How fun when somebody says what does that word mean? And you answer – it is a word for something that I have forgotten. :)

I hope you can throw this word into your conversation this week.

~Deb~

About Deb Prewitt

I am an aspiring artist. I love all things creative and enjoy the people around me who are artistic. I live in Colorado which is a great place to be. I enjoy lots of different things and plan on exploring those things in this blog.
This entry was posted in Monday word of the week and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Monday word of the week – oojamaflip

  1. faith says:

    I enjoyed this very much. I could add a few to that list of yours, e.g. thingummyjig (spelling?). I noticed a lovely word in the security check somewhere and since then I’ve been looking at them and thinking some of them should be in circulation! The one I found was Ughtah. I started a fantasy story using it as a name It isn’t finished yet but I will post it to my main blog when I get a bit more written!

  2. Pingback: Monday word of the week – Perfidious | lifeofdeb

  3. Pingback: A few thingamygibs and a couple of Whatsits…you know what I mean! « Let me tell U a story

Leave a Reply

