Butterfly Artist Reception

Tonite was the Butterflies & Friends Artist Reception, which was held at the Fine Arts Center this year. I think this venue was an excellent choice. They lined up the butterflies around the perimeter of the FAC outdoor courtyard and they looked stunning. I was ever so glad the event was tonite and not last night as there was a horrific storm that came through town last night – which would have put a damper on an outdoor party!

I wanted to share photos of all the beautiful butterflies that were created this year. The variety and creativity are amazing. I really loved seeing all the butterflies together before they are sent out into the community for the summer. They will be scattered throughout the area for everyone to enjoy and then in the fall they will all be gathered together again and auctioned off. The Butterflies & Friends event is sponsored by The Rotary Club and helps to raise funds for the arts programs in the schools. Each year different schools from the area are selected to receive money and then they can use the money any way they like in their arts programs. It is a wonderful community project and I am happy to be part of it for my 2nd year (it is the 5th year overall for the program).

Enjoy the slide show of all the wonderful butterfly creations.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Apparently I didn’t take a close-up photo of my own butterfly. Silly me. I only have a photo with the butterfly with me standing in front of it. But at least you can still sort of see the¬†butterfly. I created my butterfly using the Zentangle¬ģ technique, doing the entire butterfly freehand, no stencils or templates, all created one stroke at a time.

“Finish Line” Butterfly by Deb Prewitt

 

About Deb Prewitt

I am an aspiring artist. I love all things creative and enjoy the people around me who are artistic. I live in Colorado which is a great place to be. I enjoy lots of different things and plan on exploring those things in this blog.
This entry was posted in Art Work, Butterfly Project, Community Projects, Creativity, Inspiration, Zentangle and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Butterfly Artist Reception

  1. So many amazing butterflies and so many talented artists. It must have been so inspiring! Especially as it’s helping a good cause.
    Can you recommend a good black fine-liner for zentangling? I find the fumes of the Sharpies can give me a headache and the tip of my Faber Castell PITT artist pen has warped already.

    • Deb Prewitt says:

      thanks Diane. It is a good cause and a lot of fun as well!
      For the black fine-line for zentangles I use the Sakura micron pens. The 01 size is what I use most often. The pitt pens are really good too. The best hint I can give you for both of them is to not grip the pen too tight and not to push the pen. Just let it gently glide across your paper. It will last longer. :)

  2. Every single of these butterflies is gorgeous. Your work is stunning, as always. Such variety of styles and techniques. :)

Leave a Reply

